Breaking news

Jesuit Conference

The Society of Jesus is made up of geographical territories called "provinces".

There are approximately 80 Jesuit provinces around the world (although their number and boundaries have never been static). Each province has a superior who is simply called "the Provincial," and who, in turn, reports directly to the central Jesuit government or "curia" in Rome, headed by the Superior General. The current “Father General,” as he is often called, is Father Arturo Sosa SJ.

In the Jesuit Conference of Major Superiors of Africa (JESAM) there are currently seven provinces, one independent region and one dependent region. There are many Jesuit communities within these provinces and regions, each one usually headed by a "superior."

These provinces and regions of JESAM are organized into a conference, to promote common goals and oversee common projects, although each has its own administrative headquarters.



The JESAM Secretariat enables JESAM carry out its mission and is headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya. It provides liaison staffing for the provinces and regions, and the Society’s international headquarters in Rome.

The secretariat is made up of:

JESAM Common Works