Breaking news

Provinces and Regions

The Society of Jesus in Africa and Madagascar has expanded across the continent. True to our universal vocation of seeking God’s greater glory, we often find ourselves at the frontiers. Each culture is an opportunity to find God and everyone can collaborate by being a witness of the Good News.

Today Jesuits are present in 32 Sub-Saharan African countries. Our communities and institutions are organized in administrative units called Provinces and Regions. While there are Jesuit communities in North Africa these do not form part of JESAM.

Click links below for history of each province and region

ACE CENTRAL AFRICA: Democratic Republic of Congo and Angola
ANW NORTH-WEST AFRICA: Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone
AOC WEST AFRICA: Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea, Senegal, and Togo
AOR EASTERN AFRICA: Ethiopia, Kenya, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda
ZAM ZAMBIA-MALAWI: Zambia and Malawi
ZIM ZIMBABWE-MOZAMBIQUE: Zimbabwe and Mozambique
RWB RWANDA-BURUNDI REGION: Rwanda and Burundi – Independent Region
SAF SOUTH AFRICA REGION: South Africa – Region dependent on Zimbabwe-Mozambique